Army XI will face Indian Railways in the finals

    • 35th Indian Oil Servo Surjit Hockey Tournament Army XI will face Indian Railways in the finals Jalandhar October 30th 2018 Army XI will cross swords with Indian Railways in the finals of 35th Indian Oil Servo Surjit Hockey Tournament at Olympian Surjit Hockey Stadium here on 31st October at 6-00 PM. Today in first semi finals Army XI entered the finals for the 3rd time after beating Punjab Police via sudden death by 8-7. At the end of full time both teams were draw at 1-1. Earlier Army XI entered in the finals in 2016 and remains runners up. In second semi finals Indian Railways beat Air India Mumbai by 4-3 to enter the finals for the second time. Earlier Indian Railways were in finals in 2015 and won the tournament. First Semi finals played on very fast note. Army XI took lead in the 14th minute of the play when their Bhushan Kujur scored the field goal from right flank (1-0). After that Punjab Police mounted pressure on Army XI. They earned four penalty corners in the first half but they not able to equalize. At the end of first half Army XI was leading by 1-0. In this half Army’s Goalkeeper A B Thammiah made some good saves. In the second half’s 52nd minute Punjab Police’s Varinder Singh equalized from the pass of Gagandeep Singh (1-1). At the end of stipulated time both teams locked at 1-1 draw. Decision of the match done through penalty Shoot out. In penalty shoot outs both teams were leveled at 3-3,then sudden death rule applied in which Army scored four goals whereas Police able to score three goals. The second semi finals fast hockey witnessed. In the 10th minute Railways took lead from the field goal of Ajit Kumar pandey (1-0). In the very next minute equalizer comes from the stick of Abharan Sudev of Air India (1-1). In the 35th minute Railways Baljinder Junior converted the penalty corner (2-1). In the second half’s 45th minute Railways increased the lead when their Ajmer Singh scored the field goal (3-1). In the 48th minute Air India’s Uttam Singh sounded the board to reduce the margin (2-3). In the 65th minute Air Indian Equalized through penalty corner conversion by Faraz Mohd. (3-3). In the last minute Railways’s Karanpal Singh netted the winning goal (4-3).