IndianOil Surjit Hockey from October Tournament23.

    • IndianOil Surjit Hockey from October 23. Box Item : Renowned Sports Promoter & CMD of Gakhal Group Amolak Singh Gakhal to sponsor Cash Prize of Rs. 5.00 lakhs to the champion team. Jalandhar, Sept. 27 : ( ) 38th edition of the India‚Äôs prestigious IndianOil SERVO Surjit Hockey Tournament will be starting from October 23. According to the Deputy Commissioner, Jalandhar Mr. Ghanshyam Thori, IAS, who is also the President of the Surjit Hockey Society, that the tournament is organized every year by Society to keep the name of Sardar Surjit Singh Randhawa, ex-Olympian alive, who lost his life in a fatal car accident near Jalandhar on January 7th, 1984, while fighting hard for up-liftment of the National Game of Hockey in our Country. Thory further said that the 38th edition of the tournament would be played on league-cum-knockout basis. This year, all the 12 teams have been seeded directly into quarter finals league stage and are divided into 4 Pools with three teams each. The top 4 teams from each pool will qualify for the Semifinals, scheduled to be held on October 30. and no gate entry money will be charged from the spectators who will come to witness the game of hockey. this year tournament will be played at Army AstroTurf Hockey Ground, Katoch Stadium, Jalandhar Cantonment as the work to replace the old astroturf at Surjit Hockey stadium is being replaced and likely to be completed in month of November, Thory added Thory further informed that as in the past 30 years, this year also, the Asia's largest and leading Maharatna Oil Company IndianOil Corporation Limited will be the main sponsor of the tournament. According to Sports Minister, Punjab Olympian Pargat Singh who is also working president of the society that the winner team will get cash prize of Rs. 5.00 lakhs sponsored by the renowned sports promoter & NRI Amolak Singh Gakhal, CMD of Gakhal Group of USA whereas the runners up team will be pocketed Rs. 2.50 lakhs which is sponsored by Sant Baba Tarlok Singh Satsang Ghar, Kahna Dhesian (Jalandhar). As in the past, the best player of the tournament will get Mohinder Singh Tut Memorial Award along with a cash prize of Rs. 50,000. This prize is Sponsored by Ranbir Singh Rana Tut. He further added that CT Group of Institutions, Jalandhar, Uppal Hospitality Group (UHG) of Hong Kong, Sonalika, Markfed, Verka, Punjab & Sind Bank, SBI, PNB, Axis bank, Capital Local Area Bank, LIC of India, Canara Bank Coke, La Blossom School, State Public School, Innocent Hearts Public School, AGI Infra Limited, IY World School, Sant Talok Singh Satsang Ghar, Pyramid e Services, Virk Fertility Services, Victor Forgings, Lovely Group, Thind Eye Hospital, CR University, Gakhal Group USA, Garry Johal (Canada), Tut Brothers, HDFC, Uppal Hospitality Group (UHG) Hong Kong, Pukhraj Health Care Pvt. Ltd; etc. would be the other co-sponsors for the tournament. Iqbal Singh Sandhu who is General Secretary of the Society informed that Last champion Punjab & Sind Bank, Delhi and Runners up team IndianOil, Mumbai along with 10 other top teams of the country will take part in these 9 days hockey banana. The other teams like Air India Mumbai, Indian Army, Delhi, Indian Navy Mumbai, Indian Railways, Indian Air Force Delhi, CRPF, Delhi, Punjab Police, Punjab National bank, Delhi, BSF Jalandhar and RCF, Kapurthala which will take part to exhibit their skills. Lakhwinder Pal Singh Khaira, sr. vice president of the Society said that arrangements have been made for the LIVE telecast of both the Semi Finals & Final Match of the tournament on Tv channels on 30 and 31 October, respectively. All India Radio, Jalandhar will also relay the 'Ball-to-Ball' running commentary of the final match, Sandhu added. Surinder Singh Bhapa also informed that Chief Minister Punjab Mr. Charanjit Singh Channi, would give away the prizes to the finalist and Mr. Olympian Pargat Singh, Minister for Sports will preside over the function whereas Mr. Sujoy Choudhary, Executive Director, IOCL will be the Guest of Honour during the final day of the tournament on October 31. Mr. Sukhjinder Singh Randhawa, Deputy Chief Minister, Punjab would also be the Chief Guest on the semi-finals on October 30. Iqbal Singh Sandhu, PCS (Retd) Secretary General, Surjit Hockey Society, Jalandhar Mobile : 9417100786